Volunteering for the Introvert

fullsizerender-21
photocred:cperciaccanto and bbennett

Resolutions to improve my future have been a thing of the past for me. Too long I focused on my external shell- beauty, hair or skin improvements, food intake and waistline measurements. Wisdom that comes with time, and frustration over failed lofty resolutions caused me to let go of them. Last year I set goals for my writing and left it at that.

 

Although, like the masses of January goal setters, I still have hopes to drink more water and intake less calories this year, but after last December’s record five illnesses (and currently battling a winters head cold- enough already!), I just want a healthy immune system. Our hospital is bringing on a new orthopedic surgeon this year, which means my caseload, of post-op patients to heal (read torture), will increase exponentially, and I need to be in fighting shape.

fullsizerender-23
photocred:cperciaccanto

As I sat down to ponder what I wanted to accomplish in my writing career this year, another question popped into my head- if there was something you wanted to improve about yourself, besides your writing, what would be it be?

 

Immediately my lack of community involvement and scant volunteerism record smacked me in the brain. It’s been a goal I’ve wanted to achieve for some time but never put the effort in to actually attain it. One big road block- it scares my introvert self. It means going to unfamiliar places to do new things and meet strangers (cue nail biting).

 

Being a writer perseverates my love for creative solitude. Working with patients on a daily basis forces me to extroverted for eight hours a day, so in the evenings my true introvert self loves to crawl into her cave to read, write and create.

 

So in an effort to improve myself more on the inside, stretch out of my introvert comfort zone and engage more in the needs of others, I’ve created a month-by-month volunteerism goal. I will start out small to not set unattainable goals and not scare myself back into my shell. Each month will be a different place or type of volunteering. In just researching the months ahead, I have already learned a great deal of the resources in my community I had never heard of before.

fullsizerender-20
photocred:cperciaccanto

My hope is gravitate more into community involvement, get outside of myself to help others in need and eventually find a place that fits me to volunteer on a regular basis.

 

I invite you to come along on this new journey and of course the many others I plan on getting into this year. I welcome any advice on places in need and please share your experiences in volunteering! I hope it might inspire others to get out there and build their own bridges as well.

fullsizerender-22
photocred:cperciaccanto

” Never be afraid to do something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark; professionals built the titanic.” ~ Author Unknown

10 Comments Add yours

  1. chadkmiller says:

    That really is great, especially for someone who already gives so much to others during your daily job. I am so excited to hear more about your experiences!

    1. Thanks so much Chad. You two are so giving it inspires me. I’m excited about it.

  2. Pat Owens says:

    My sister is the introvert in the family and she helped teach English for a library in Chicago area. She also volunteered for a Hospice.
    Your cousin Susan sure does her share of volunteering with the music in Mexico! (Burt too, with his building skills!) I comment there too and she mentions YOU in blog with title of “letter to my 23 year old self” something like that

    1. I’m hoping to find something I can do with hospice this year. I have some connections at my Hospital. It would be nice in honor of mine and Susan’s mom, but if I’m being honest that one scares me. But- it would probably be the most rewarding and helpful to others. We shall see how brave I become 🙂

      Yes, my cousins are amazing 🙂 and your sister sounds amazing too!!

  3. Pat Owens says:

    I love that quote about amateurs built the ark but professionals built the Titanic! good one!

  4. So glad for u. U have a heart for this and do it naturally ❤

    1. Thanks friend ! Can only hope to aspire to your level of selflessness!

  5. Cheryl Ivans says:

    I love your pictures. I admire you for wanting to do volunteer work. I think you would be great at it.

    1. Thank you so much, Cheryl! It should turn out to be s fun adventure.
      I hope you and your husband are doing well and enjoying life❤

Leave a Reply

