Doctors Orders…

 

My last primary care physician would always start his exam with a question….

“What are you doing for yourself today, just for you, that makes you happy?”

It’s such an easy question, but frightening how hard it was to answer sometimes. Life throws us into the daily grind of schedules, errands and to-do lists. Carving out time to stop and do something for ourselves is difficult. I’m not a parent, but I can only assume “me time” is all but non-existent in a parents day- to- day.

If I couldn’t answer the question at the beginning of the exam ,besides saying “Getting a check-up” :), he would remind me of how daily intake of stress overtime slowly kills us. Then at the end of my appointment, he would ask, ” Now what do you plan to try and do for yourself today?”

Today, I’m in my office and writing. My happy place. My Zen Zone. Putting down word after word, even it’s it just for me, because that’s what makes me HAPPY.

WHAT ABOUT YOU?? WHAT ARE YOU DOING FOR YOURSELF TODAY, JUST FOR YOU, THAT MAKES YOU HAPPY?? TELL ME ABOUT IT…..

IMG_5928
photocred:cperciaccanto
6 Comments Add yours

  1. off to church which I love; then plan to KNIT! I love knitting and need to start another sweater for a new baby due in July. Love your reminder!!!!!! Thanks!!!!

    1. Sounds like a relaxing day! I like to crochet; I admire those who knit. Takes more patience and talent I think! I bet it will be beautiful. Congrats on the baby and thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. I’m reading your post ☺️

    1. Awwww… Thanks friend. Your support means so much 🙂

  3. Joy Bennett says:

    I played in my yard and garden all day long and had a great breakfast with my hubby and great friend Roger Coble.

    1. Hey Joy!! Welcome to the blog! Thanks so much for commenting. I’m glad you played in your yard. It was a perfect day for it. Glad you spent time w family and friends. So important . Love you!!

Leave a Reply

