Choose to Dance

IMG_5393

“The safe route-comfort-is alluring, but it doesn’t develop character. Or lead to possibilities. Or to winning dance contests, Or to falling in love and having one’s life changed. So, given the chance, dance“ – Bob Welch

Lately I’ve been participating on a group blog called “ This Wonderful Life”. It follows a devotional book on life lessons derived from the classic movie “It’s a Wonderful Life”. I stole the above quote and partly the idea from this weeks lesson. The author, Bob Welch, talks about how even the smallest decisions can impact your life, change your path and shape your character.

I wonder how many would agree, that life can easily grow stagnant. The “American Way” eerily parallels the lives of worker bees. Strict schedules devoted to our jobs from sun up to sun down. We have about 3- 4 hours a night with our families or hobbies to decompress and then its time to start over. Americans generally work 5 out of the 7 days a week and 50 out of the 52 weeks in a year. Work, Work ,Work and little time for excitement and adventures.

I’m not saying that I hate my job . On the contrary, I love the nature of my career, but with any job, repetition can grow old . My husband falls into the category of many “thirty something’s” where his actual career choice has lost its luster and is no longer rewarding. This is a scary place to be in. You’ve gotten your college degree, paid your dues and have gained much experience and knowledge from being in the field. However, now it bores and even frustrates you.

What then is the solution? Stay on this path because so much time has already been invested? Look for other local jobs that may be of interest? Start over? Any of these choices can prove intimidating. I don’t see life like the “ Price is Right”, where door # 3 isn’t the shiny new car, but a goat. There’s no wrong choice.
Choosing which path or door to take, has to right for you . If you chose door #1 and you wind up unhappy. Don’t stay there because its easy. Veer off course. Nothing great just happens. Challenge that fear and fight conformity.

I went through a period of “existing” after my mother died. The intense phase of grief had passed and left me feeling spent and going through the motions. I had always wanted to sky dive, but feared the “ what ifs”. I challenged that fear and jumped out of a plane with no safety net in site. It was scary as hell, euphoric , and just what the doctor ordered. Like jumper cables on a car battery, it provided a jump start on my life.

Fear can propel us into the path of great things . My husband and I are faced with new choices, new paths this year. We are choosing to “ dance” . Time will tell if chose a slow waltz or something more exciting, like a samba!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This is so true. I really am glad for you to be embarking on a new path. I’m always cheering you on. I liked the ending as there are many types of dancing. Just as long as you don’t do the “elaine from seinfeld” dance you’re doing good:)

  2. dilipnaidu says:

    Remarkable indeed! Wish you all the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

