Time

 

I used to feel like a rebel when I would sneak a Christmas movie before Thanksgiving; maybe slip a Christmas c.d. in my car. Now, I feel I am just following the herd. At the first sign of fall, popular super stores have the Halloween costumes on the isle beside the Christmas ornaments. They feel they have done their duty not playing Christmas music until after Halloween passes. Then they assume retail freedom to bombard you with decking the halls, trimming the tree and to “shop, shop, shop“ the sales; all before the turkeys have been cooked.

 

Currently ,the news is abuzz that certain large retail chains are having their employees come in Thanksgiving evening. I can understand that due to the lingering poor economy , businesses and corporations make changes in order to stay afloat and profitable. I still find it sad and will not be lined up to participate. I hope many others will also stay home with their families, so that this will not become a yearly event.

 

Whatever happened to letting Thanksgiving breathe? Out of all our largely celebrated holidays, Thanksgiving is the least over commercialized . Barring the food, there is little reason to shop. We don’t traditionally give gifts to one another, but then I realized we actually do . Its not a tangible gift. You can’t wrap it in shiny paper with coordinating bows. There’s no need for credit cards or lay away. Its the gift of time. Time with one another. Taking time to slow down and fellowship around the table with Grandpa Joe and Cousin Sue. Not thinking about deadlines, soccer practice, or how many calories were in the green bean casserole. Soaking up your family and friends for the blessings that they are.

 

As we age, we see our society getting farther and farther away from our roots. The big push for the almighty dollar gets shoved to the forefront ahead of our family values and traditions . I am only 32, but involuntarily see myself changing to the fast lane. Like my parents before me, I find myself saying “ How is it November again?”.

 

Let us remember that time is a gift. It can not be bought or sold. Once it is gone, you can never get it back. Tragedy and loss will remind you how precious it is. Chose to see the blessing right before you , with out having to be reminded.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. Very true. Its a shame our culture is all about consuming. Doesnt seem sustainable

  3. Larry Steve Crain says:

    Good thoughts. Appreicated much.

Leave a Reply

